Soul Of Man – Breakthru Vol 1 Revelations 1999

soul of man


Bertie Dastard from the Free Breaks Blog has once again found a gem of a mix in his never ending collection of music. This mix from Soul of Man is from way back in 1999 !

U.K.-based DJ/production duo Soul of Man were at the forefront of the late-’90s breakbeat uprising, founding the seminal label Finger Lickin’ Records, which would release music by leading breakbeat acts such as Krafty Kuts, Lee Coombs, and Plump DJs. Soul of Man are comprised of Jem Panufnik and Justin Rushmore, who founded Finger Lickin’ Records in 1998. Based in Camden, England, the label’s office also functions as a record shop, café, and bar known as Vinyl Addiction/Bar Vinyl, where DJs spin nightly. Panufnik and Rushmore inaugurated Finger Lickin’ Records with the debut Soul of Man 12″ EP release, Love & Hate, in 1998, followed later in the year by another Soul of Man EP, Between the Eyes. In 1999 they made their DJ mix album debut as Soul of Man with Breakthru, Vol. 1: Revelation on the short-lived label Sixty Degrees North Records.


01.Soul Of Man – “What Is De Soul Of Man?”
02.Soul Of Man – Love & Hate
03.Double Six – Real Good
04.JB Smallstars – Daft funk
05.Flint – Theme From Flint
06.New Generation – Hand break turn
07.Africa Bambaataa The Nebula Funk – Mind Control
08.Soul Of Man – Between The Eyes
09.Dub Pistols – Unique Freak
10.Aphradan (Aphrodite) – Strutt
11.The James Taylor Quartet – Theme From Starsky & Hutch
12.Osmosis – Jungle Freak
13.General Narco – Rudi’s Revenge
14.Moog – What Is A Party
15.Pick’n’ Mixed Feat. Velvet Jones – Twisted Ska”
16.Kilo featuring Seanis B – Adventures Of Bushwacka
17.Beautiful People Feat. Jimi Hendrix – Filly Groove
18.Fuzz Townsend – Get Yerself

Lo IQ – Episode #02




1. The Lonely Island feat. Lil Jon & Sam F – When Will the Bass Drop (Lo IQ? Remix)
2. Mike Nice, DJ Hero feat. Jett – Is It Real (Original Mix)
3. Diplo – Revolution (feat. Faustix & Imanos and Kai) (Icey ReWork)
4. Kaskade – Ain’t Gonna Lie (Lo IQ? Remix)
5. Aggresivnes – Tooby [Elektro Shok]
6. Black & Blunt – Beats Y’All (Original Mix) [Rump Shaker Records]
7. Skrillex – Dirty Vibe (Lo IQ? ReWork)
8. Robin Fox – I See Stars (Dynasty Remix)
9. Lo IQ? – New Generation (Original Mix) w/”What” Accapella
10. Mike Nice, DJ Hero feat. Jett – Breathe (Original Mix)
11. Lo IQ? – This Is My Bassline (Original Mix)
12. Capital Cities – Safe & Sound (Tommie Sunshine & Live City Remix)(Lo IQ? ReRub)
13. Lo IQ? – In Transit (Original Mix)
14. Freestylers – Coming Storm (Lo IQ?’s Bare Essentials Remix)

Beatslappaz – July 2014 Mix

Beatslappaz - July 2014 Mix


My good old buddies the Beatslappaz have just released their latest monthly mix. A collection of new Bass and Breaks tunes from around the world including their award winning  “Oh Girl” remix plus a new edit from Lee Coombs of an old Forme track from the Nuskool Breaks days.


Old Dirty Bastard – Shimmy Shimmy Ya (Worthy Remix)
AC Slater – Go Harder
Tony Quattro – Shiva
Marten Horger & Lady Waks – Shockout (Instrumental)
Breach – Jackapella
Wuki – Happy Accidents VIP
Tony Quattro – The Sound
Curtis B & Wuki – Git Loose
Torqux – Blazin’ feat Lady Leshurr (Extended Mix)
Marten HØrger feat Funkanomics – Oh Girl (Beatslappaz Remix)
Forme – Kick A Hole (Lee Coombs Edit)
Ballast – In The Sticks
Oliver Heldens x Becky Hill – Gecko (Overdrive)
Pirate Jams – Treat You Right
LYNX – Take Back The Night (Smash HiFi & Sangers Remix)
Phonat – Machines Do Care

D-Funk – Step To My Beat EP + DJ Mix



New mix from Australia’s D-Funk entitled “Step To My Beat”. A promotional item for his new upcoming EP on Upstart Music. Peep the soundcloud links below for audio of this release.

You can also pre-order over at Junodownload:

D-Funk… ‘Step To My Beat’ DJ Mix


D-Funk – ‘You Think We’re Stupid’ [Upstart Music/Step To My Beat EP]
Dub Pistols feat Rodney P – ‘Gangstas’ (2 Bit Thungs Mix) [Sunday Best]
Benny Kane – ‘Selecta’ [Apexape Records]
Lynx – ‘Take Back The Night’ (Smash Hi Fi x Sangers Mix) [Free Download –]
Black & Blunt – ‘Beats Y’All’ (FTW Mix) [Rump Shaker Records]
Beatslappaz – ‘Lights’ [Free Download –]
Mr Breaks – No Rules [Hertz Bass Records]
Arka – Maya [Fat! Records]
Domenico Rovito & Thomas Nolan – Hustlers Corner (Higher Self Mix) [Moody Recordingds]
Miss Mants & DRKWTR – ‘Get Ready’ (D-Funk Mix) [Breakz R Boss]
D-Funk – ‘In The Front’ [Upstart Music/Step To My Beat EP]
Ben & Lex – Hotstep (Instrumental) [Lets Go! Recordings]
Charlie Kane – ‘Binoic’ (Direct Input Mix) [V.I.M Records]
D-Funk – ‘Chickens In The Truck’ [Upstart Music/Step To My Beat EP]
Titan – ‘Groove’ (D-Funk Edit) [iBreaks Records]
D-Funk feat MC Manic – ‘Bust This’ (Sonek Mix) [Upstart Music]

* Additional shouts by Tim Wisdom.
** Various samples & accapellas also feature through out the mix.

Andy Faze – Elements (Psybreaks Podcast – EP13)

Andy Faze


Elements Podcast hosted by Andy Faze returns this month with a hot selection for them summer nights! A nice blend of deeper breaks and electro vibes at the beginning before we charge off into pure banging psychedelica and tech-funk rhythms.

New tracks from – Alter Form, Retroid, Martopeter, Chris Voro, Z4thoichi and more!


01. Isolate – Cone Storm (Karl Sav Remix) [In Bloom]
02. Raggapop Inc, Elevate & Rick Tedesco – Sever (Retroid Remix) [Morphosis Limited]
03. Metha – Dark Smile (Zera & Uno-Y Remix) []
04. Alter Form & Retroid – No Way Out [Ego Shot]
05. Andy Faze & Llupa – Empty Your Mind [In Bloom]
06. Martopeter – Homegrown Disaster (Z4thoichi Remix) [Divergence]
07. Roboteknic – See The Light [Broken Robot]
08. Andy Faze – Space Feline [CDR]
09. Nick Sentience – Scientific Advancement (Chris Voro Remix) [Critical Overload]
10. Akash – Aliens Vs Machine (Martopeter Remix) [VIM Breaks]
11. Chris Voro – The Zion Mainframe (Too Dusty Remix) [VIM Breaks]
12. Neurodriver – Sidewinder (Tekbot Remix) [Broken Robot]
13. Feuerhake – Under Pressure (Blazer Remix) [Logariddim]